Disclaimer: All information shared on this page is purely for informational purpose only. Therefore, we suggest you consult with your lawyer for professional advice.
There are affiliate links on this article. If you make a purchase through any of the links, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
Tinting your car’s front windshield is one of the most delicate vehicle upgrades to do in the US. You’re not sure if you’re going against the state’s law by tinting the entire windshield or using your preferred tint material. Hence, it is best to check out your state’s laws on tinting before proceeding.
Can you tint your front windshield in Texas? The US state of Texas is one of the few states that allow dark tints on the windshield. In Texas, you can have up to 25 percent VLT tint, and no one is going to pull you over! But if you go darker than 25% light transmittance, your car won’t pass inspections, and you could get fined, except you have a medical exemption notice.
Can You Tint Your Front Windshield In Texas?
Yes, you can tint the windshield if you live and drive in Texas. But there are regulations as to how dark the windshield should appear, and you’re not allowed to tint the entire glass.
Also, there are restrictions to what type of tinting material to use. Hereunder are the laws for windshield tinting in Texas (bulleted for a clearer read). These laws were set by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- You must not tint past the AS-1 Line; if you can’t find the AS1 marking on your windshield, measure five inches from the top of the windshield, and there’s where to stop your tinting. In Texas, you’re not allowed to tint the entire windshield.
- Red, blue, and amber tinting films are illegal – you must not use them, or you could be booked for a ticket.
- The darkest legal windshield tint level in Texas is 25% light transmittance or more. Anything below this level is illegal and would attract a penalty.
- You can apply a clear (un-tinted) UV film on your entire car’s windshield – even without needing to present a medical report.
- Vehicles used and maintained by law enforcement agencies can have any tint on the windshield – such vehicles are exempted from the law.
- Also, medically unfit persons are allowed to use much darker tints for their health condition. You must get a Medical Exception notice before you can be availed of this privilege.
- Passenger vehicles used to transport passengers on a regular basis for a fee are exempted from some of these laws.
Where is the AS1 Line?
Not many drivers understand what is meant by AS-1 Line. Well, this Line basically does not exist; it is an imaginary line. To discover this Line, you need to closely inspect your car’s windshield glass. A closer look at most windshield glasses – about 5 to 6 inches from the top – you will notice encryption, “AS-1.” Not all windshield glasses have this marking, but you’d find it on many.
The AS-1 inscription is usually written on both side-ends of the windshield. Now, the AS1 Line is the imaginary line you draw in your mind to run across the two “AS-1” inscriptions on a windshield. If a windshield doesn’t have AS1 markings, simply measure 5 or 6 inches from the top, and that’s where the AS1 marking should be; measure it on both side ends and draw the imaginary AS1 Line.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Much is a Windows Tint Ticket in Texas?
If it’s your first-ever ticket, you’d be charged as low as $20 and instructed to change your tint to a lighter one or use another tint material. However, if it’s your second ticket, you could be paying as much as $250 or even more – the more tickets you get, the higher the fine you’d pay.
What Can You Put on the Entire Windshield in Texas?
If you really want to put a film on the entire windshield, that’s possible. However, the law states that you must use a clear (un-tinted) UV film that won’t alter the glass color when viewed in daylight, and this does not require you to get a medical exemption notice or anything of such. Actually, tinting much not be applied below the AS1 Line.
Can Cops Pull You Over For Tint in Texas?
Yes, you can get pulled over for driving with reflective tints or darker tints. The ticket fine is around $20 – $300, depending on many factors. The best you can do is to stick with the regulations of the Texas DPS.