Disclaimer: All information shared on this page is purely for informational purpose only. Therefore, we suggest you consult with your lawyer for professional advice.
There are affiliate links on this article. If you make a purchase through any of the links, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
When it comes to tinting car windows, everyone’s taste differs, and so also the state laws on car window tinting. Some drivers may want very dark tints for specific reasons, while others would prefer the regular light tints – typically installed from the factory by the car manufacturer.
Well, whatever your reason for tinting your car window is, there are regulations as to how dark you can make your car glasses appear. So, how dark can I tint my car windows? The level of dark tint allowed in motor vehicles depends on the state you live or work in. For most states, like New York, the highest dark tint to have is 70 percent.
How Dark Can I Tint My Car Windows?
Car window tinting laws in the U.S. differ from state to state – each has specific regulations on how dark your car windows should appear. Also, where you are putting the tint matters a whole lot. For example, it is illegal to put aftermarket tint on your windshield in Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey, but you can tint other windows to a specified VLT.
To know exactly how dark you can tint, you should check the laws by the department of motor vehicles in your state. We can’t exactly mention just one tint level and name it the darkest you should have on. So, hereunder are the tint levels supported across U.S. states.
|State||Front Windows||Back Windows||Rear Windows|
|Michigan||any percent, but only 4 inches from the top of the window||any||any|
|New Hampshire||no tinting allowed||35%||35%|
|New Jersey||no tinting allowed||any||any|
|Vermont||No tinting allowed||any||any|
|Washington D.C.||70%||50% for cars, 35% for MPVs||50% for cars, 35% for MPVs|
The chart provided above does not include windshield tinting levels. Generally, in some states, the law allows you to tint the entire windshield 70 percent, while in most states, you can only tint 5 to 6 inches of the windshield – down to the AS-1 Line. It is illegal to tint below the AS1 line in most states, and using reflective aftermarket tints is also not supported.
You can have up to 33 percent tint in states like Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Connecticut, Indiana, Montana, and quite many others. States that allow the darkest tints include Texas, Tennessee, Colorado, New Mexico, and Arkansas. If you live in any of these states, you go very dark on your car windows without getting pulled over.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 5 or 35 Tint Darker?
Yes, 5% is darker than 35%. Getting a 5 percent tint means adding a window film that blocks 95% of light coming from outside the glass. This is very dark and illegal in most states. On the other hand, 35% is still a dark tint, but not as dark as 5%, so it is legal in many states. You can only see through five percent tint when driving in the daytime.
What Is The Darkest Legal Tint?
Depending on which window you’re putting the tint, here are the generally acceptable tint levels: 70% for windshield tint; up to 30 percent for all other windows; also, if you must put rear windshield/window tint, your car must have a side mirror on both sides. There are no federal laws on car window tinting, so check your state’s DMV website.
Why Is Window Tint Illegal?
No. Window tint is not illegal; each state has its laws on how dark you should tint your car windows. It is only illegal when you tint your car windows darker than allowed in your state or use a tinting material that is marked “illegal” by your state’s department of motor vehicle (DMV).