Disclaimer: All information shared on this page is purely for informational purpose only. Therefore, we suggest you consult with your lawyer for professional advice.
There are affiliate links on this article. If you make a purchase through any of the links, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
If you just moved into a new state and you’ve got tinted windows on your car, one of the first things to do is to re-tint the windows to comply with the state’s tint laws. Car window tinting in the United States of America is regulated on the state level; each state has its specific tinting laws that all its citizens must adhere to.
If you’re looking for how to get around NYS tint law, that’s close to impossible. The only way you can do that is to put a tint that satisfies the state’s DMV laws. If you go against the law and get ticketed, there’s literally no way to get around the situation except you pay the fine and other charges that may apply.
What is the NYS Tint Law?
According to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, you shouldn’t go darker than 70 percent VLT on the windshield, and reflective tints must not be used. Also, if you’re going to tint the rear and back windows, you must have side mirrors on each side of the car. You must allow 70 percent light transmittance when driving with tinted windows in NYS.
If you want to go darker for any reason, you must apply for an exemption notice. Mainly, this notice is given to people who have health challenges or visual impairment challenges and need not be exposed to recessive sunlight rays. With a medical exemption notice, you can go below 70 percent VLT in New York State without getting pulled over by the cops.
It is understandable that dark tinting is one of the most impressive upgrades to do on a car, but you shouldn’t get carried away and go against the laws of your state. Well, if you travel outside the NYS to states like Texas, you can go darker – down to 25 VLT. But then, it is illegal to tint the entire windshield – you only have up to the AS1 line to tint.
How To Get Around NYS Tint Law?
The NYS tint law is clearly written out on the state’s department of motor vehicle website. You should read it up before putting tint on your car windows. If you’re in New York for a short while (and you drove in from a state that allows darker tint), maybe you should use ride-share services like Uber instead of driving your dark-tinted car to avoid getting a ticket.
New York State’s car window tint ticket costs up to $150 – that’s seemingly a high one. You can’t beat the situation (unless you pay) if you already got ticketed. If you’re going for an inspection, you’d be better off removing the dark tint on your windows because leaving it on your car won’t pass the state’s inspection.
Driving with an illegal tint in New York City will get you ticketed as many times as you get caught. To escape this, you must get an exemption notice, which is only issued when you have a medical condition confirmed by a physician stating the reasons why you should have custom tints on your car windows.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Do I Get Tint Exemption In NY?
The only exemption is for people with compelling medical reports signed by a physician. To get New York State tint exemption, you need a Medical Exemption notice, which you will apply for, and wait for it to be approved by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicle. But first, you will get a letter signed by a physician or optometrist to prove that you do not need excessive sunlight rays to shine on you.
How to Pass NYS Inspection With Tints?
You should pass the state’s annual inspection tests as long as your tints allow up to 70 percent light transmittance. According to the NYS DMV, the legal tint permitted in the state is 70% for the front Windshield and front side windows. Darkened windshields and windows are not allowed, so if that’s what you’ve got, you won’t pass the inspections.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows in NY?
Yes. You either get fined or pulled over when you drive with reflective tints or go darker than the allowed 70% VLT. The fine could be as high as $150 or higher. In New York, dark tints and using reflective tint materials are illegal.