Disclaimer: All information shared on this page is purely for informational purpose only. Therefore, we suggest you consult with your lawyer for professional advice.
There are affiliate links on this article. If you make a purchase through any of the links, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
Tinting the windshield and other windows in a car is among the most sort-after upgrades done by car owners. This helps to reduce the number of sunlight rays that get into the car from the windows and also serves as a security feature (especially rear window tints). Putting tints on your car windows isn’t a crime, but every state has laws on how you should do that.
But then, in most states, you can’t have a dark tint on your windows – there’s a level to which you can tint each window. If you want to go darker than the legal limits in your state, you will need to get an exemption note.
Looking to get a window tint exemption sticker? You must first obtain a medical report from a certified physician and then submit it to the relevant department in your state government – afterward, upon approval by your state’s government department in charge of tint exceptions, you will be given a sticker to put on your windshield.
How To Get Window Tint Exemption Sticker
The procedure and requirements differ by state. Some states allow very dark tints even without medical exemption stickers; states like Texas, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, and some others allow up to 30 percent VLT, which is quite very dark.
In contrast, states like New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Washington D.C. allow 70 percent VLT or not lesser than 50 percent. Before you can put a lesser tint in these states, you must get an exemption sticker, which is given on a medical basis – indicating you have a health situation that requires you to stay away from the harshness of sunlight rays.
Generally, the procedure to get window tint exemption in most states are:
- Receive a diagnosis report from a healthcare center or certified doctor.
- Submit the report to your state’s department on window tinting and get the window tint exemption form.
- Complete the form and submit it to the relevant department
- Wait for the approval, and your exemption stick should be mailed to your address, or you’d be told where to get it.
But then, it is important to note that some states do not approve medical exemptions for tinting your car windows below the state’s legalized standard. Currently, there are eight (8) of those states.
States That Do Not Allow Window Tint Law Medical Exemption
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
If you live in any of these states or plan to move there, you won’t be granted a tinting exemption based on medical reasons. However, in Colorado, you can have down to 25% tint on all windows, but on the windshield, you can only tint four inches from the top. Well, you should read your state’s regulations and laws on car window tinting before proceeding to put the one you want.
States That Allow Window Tint Law Medical Exemption
Aside from the eight states mentioned above, other U.S. states accept legitimate exemptions based on medical reports. This includes the following states:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia
Frequently Asked Questions
How Do I Get a P.A. Tint Waiver?
You can get a tint waiver on medical conditions in Pennsylvania. According to PennDOT, medical exemptions are available for the use of colorless window tint products that filter incoming U.V. light. You have to apply for this waiver by contacting PennDOT’s Medical Unit at (717) 787-9662.
Do Cops Pull Over For Tint PA?
It all depends on where your car was registered. If your vehicle is registered in Pennsylvania, you could get pulled over for driving illegal tint material or going darker than the legally-approved VLT. But if your car isn’t registered in P.A., you could still get fined.
Is Tint Law Medical Exemption Renewed?
In most states, you have to renew your exemption permit after every four years. This mainly means reapplying and getting approved again. If you do not renew your exemption, you could be ticketed.