Most luxury and higher-trim cars come with tinted windshields to reduce the amount of light that penetrates the car while driving during the day or under the scorching sun. But windshield tinting has always been a bone of contention because not all states allow it. So, which states allow front windshield tint?
You’re allowed to tint only about 9 percent of the windshield in most states; this means you can only tint up to the AS-1 Line on the windshield. But in states like Ohio, Colorado, Texas, and North Dakota, you can tint the entire windshield – it just shouldn’t be darker than 70 percent VLT. Tinting laws in the US vary from state to state; you should read the rulings for your state on tinting.
Is Windshield Tinting Allowed in the US?
There are no federal laws or rulings as regards how you can tint your car window – tinting laws in the US are state-based. This means that whether you should tint your car windows or not depends on the state you live and work in. But then, tinting is allowed across all US states; the contention is the level of tint you should have on your car windows.
Several states allow tinting other windows (asides from the windshields) up to 32 percent VLT. Windshield tinting is generally accepted up to 70 percent VLT in states where windshield tint is allowed. Completely tinting the windshield is assumed to reduce the visibility of a car driver in low light conditions, so it is not allowed in many states.
Well, tints aren’t vision-disrupting, as most people think. Even with a 32 percent tint, you can easily see through when driving during the day or at night with the street lights on. But then, tinting the windshield to be very dark (up to 32 percent or lower) might increase the chances of crashes, collisions, and other types of road accidents due to poor vision.
What States Allow Front Windshield Tint?
Whether applying it as a security feature or upgrading your car’s looks, you must not have dark tinting on the windshield. Full windshield tinting is only allowed in the US States of Ohio, Colorado, Texas, and North Dakota, and even in these states, you are not allowed to put windshield tint darker than 70 percent VLT.
Asides from those states, most other states allow windshield tinting to the AS-1 Line; this means that you’re only allowed to put a tint from the top of the windshield up to the AS-1 Line on your windshield – tinting past the AS1 Line in such states is an offense.
In states like Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey, you are not allowed to put any aftermarket tint on the windshield. However, in these states, you can put aftermarket tints – up to 35 percent VLT – on your rear windows, provided your car has rearview mirrors on both sides.
What is VLT?
When you talk of tinting your car window, one of the things you must know is the VLT percentage allowed in your state. VLT simply refers to the percentage of light entering the car; it is the acronym for Visible Light Transmittance, which indicates the amount of light that can penetrate a tinted window; the lower the VLT percentage, the darker the tint, which means the lower light transmittance allowed.
This means that a 32 percent VLT tint is darker than a 60- or 70-percent VLT tint. Hence, in most states, you are not allowed to go darker than 32 for front and rear windows while maintaining a maximum of 70 percent on windshields. Some cars may come standard with 70 percent VLT tint on all windows.
What is AS-1 Line?
This is an imaginary line that runs across the windshield. If you look closely at most windshields, towards the top, you will find a small written word “AS1” or “AS-1,” this should be on both end sides of the windshield; the AS1 Line is the imaginary line between these two markings. The Line is not drawn; you just trace it from the AS1 marking at the left end to the other end of the windshield.
If you didn’t see any AS1 marking on your windshield, no problems; there’s another way to go about this. Measure 5 to 6 inches – on both sides – from the top of the windshield, and you have what you’re looking for. You can also use sun visors; flip it down until they touch the windshield; the bottom edge of the sun visor is the AS1 Line.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can You Tint Your Front Windshield in Florida?
Yes, you can tint your windshield in Florida, but the tint must not exceed the AS1 Line, and you must not use a reflective tinting material. Other windows can have up to 28 VLT percent tint, and it’s acceptable.
Can I Tint My Front Windshield In California?
Windshield tint law in California is different from what you have in other states. In CA, you can tint only just 5 inches of the windshield – starting from the top, and the tinting material used must not be reflective. More so, the tint on the front windows must be 70% VLT before you can tint the windshield.
Can You Tint Your Windshield In Texas?
Texas windshield tinting law states that you can allow 70% light transmittance from the windshield using a “clear” film won’t alter the color of the glass when viewed in natural daylight. You may also need to add a visor strip to the top of the front windshield.